.Layer (dot-layer) is an open community promoting collaboration and knowledge sharing in data science.

Why .Layer? In Unix operating systems, files beggining with a dot are invisible to the user. Many ignore their purpose, even their existence. In this world where data are queens, data scientists form this hidden layer, invisible to the public. It is now time we say Hello, World!

Implication: Concretely, we work together for

  • organizing educational events promoting the sharing of knowledge in data science
  • promoting ethical uses of data
  • encouraging the creation of collaborative projects
  • assisting in the development and proper functioning of projects aiming to disseminate/explain concepts related to data science.

Our story:

During the summer of 2018, around fifteen people, friends of friends passionate about machine learning gathered in a chalet in Charlevoix. The objective was to create a platform to promote collaboration between the various actors in the field (in Quebec City). An unfortunate patio screen accident later (as we see too often), .Layer had his name and a collaborative project to promote collaborative projects was born. We were already talking about creating a non-profit organization (NPO) to manage our activities.

2019 marked the “official” birth of the NPO with a first board of directors and the creation of different committees. At the time of the second edition of the legendary “chalet”, a blog was operational, Meetup Machine Learning Qu├ębec (conferences, workshops, hackathon) was already an integral part of the ecosystem and the first episodes of the OpenLayer podcast had just been broadcast. The rest of the story is to be written. We are waiting for you, don’t hesitate to contact us if you want to get involved!

To chat with us –> Slack

To follow what’s up with .Layer –> Facebook

.Layer (dot-layer) est une communauté ouverte dédiée à la promotion de la collaboration et le partage de connaissances en science des données.

Pourquoi .Layer ? Dans les systèmes d’exploitation Unix, les fichiers et répertoires commençant par un point sont invisibles pour l’utilisateur. Plusieurs ignorent leur rôle et même leur existence. En ce monde où les données sont reines, les data scientists forment cette couche cachée, invisible du grand public. Il est maintenant temps que nous disions Hello, World!

Implication : Concrètement, nous travaillons ensemble pour

  • organiser des événements éducatifs favorisant le partage de connaissances en science des données
  • promouvoir une utilisation éthique des données
  • favoriser la création de projets collaboratifs
  • aider au développement et bon fonctionnement de projets de diffusion/vulgarsation de concepts reliés à la science des données.

Petite histoire :

À l’été 2018, une quinzaine de personnes, des amis d’amis passionés de machine learning se réunissaient dans un chalet de Charlevoix. L’objectif était de se doter d’une plateforme pour favoriser la collaboration entre différents acteurs dans le milieu (à Québec). Un malheureux accident de moustiquaire plus tard (comme on en voit trop souvent), .Layer avait son nom et un projet collaboratif pour favoriser les projets collaboratifs naissait. On parlait déjà de créer un organisme sans but lucratif (OSBL) pour assurer la gestion de nos activités.

L’année 2019 marqua la naissance “officielle” de l’OSBL avec un premier conseil d’administration et la créations de différents comités. Au moment de la deuxième édition du mythique “chalet”, un blog était fonctionnel, Meeting Machine Learning Québec (conférences, ateliers, hackothon) faisait déjà partie intégrante de l’éco-système et les premiers épisode du podcast OpenLayer venaient tout juste d’être diffusés. Le reste de l’Histoire est à écrire. On t’attend, n’hésite pas à nous contacter si tu souhaites t’impliquer!

Pour suivre l’action entourant .Layer —> facebook.